I really like the way you word and explain things. You’re very articulate (at least on paper šŸ‘)

Thanks, anon! šŸ™‚ I’m a huge mess when talking in person, but written word is a lot easier for me–easy to rearrange things to convey ideas better when I have time to process what I’m thinking and turn that into words. Also, metaphors aren’t as effective when spoken aloud, I find, or at least they tend to sound awfully cheesy when I voice them instead of writing them.Ā 

Okay so, you may not like Boruto, (and honestly, I can’t disagree with you) but you have to admit that Himawari is pretty great. Such a cutie. A dangerous cutie

Boruto is… I have yet to find his positive traits, is the best way I can put it. With nearly every other next gen character I can find some aspect of them that I like or understand or sympathize with at least a little bit, but Boruto is basically like… self-absorbed privileged upper class cishet white guy who feels entitled to everything but doesn’t understand responsibility or respect?Ā 

Like… even at the end of his story arc he doesn’t really understand how much of a tool he was being? He CHEATED multiple times in an exam witnessed by foreign delegates and against someone who is supposed to be his best friend and yet we’re supposed to root for him? I’m just… wtf.

If he were presented as that douchebag character who learns how much of an asshat he’s been and eventually becomes a better person through ~friendship~ and such then, sure, that would have been great. Fantastic even. I love Jeffrey Winger’s character development in Community from manipulative scumbag to reluctant group leader. I understand, at the very least, why Shawn Spencer from Psych is the way he is and himĀ lying about being a psychic is how he can help people and his character development is great, too.

But there’s none of that for Boruto as far as I can see, and that’s really what he needs, I think. Kishimoto just slapped a hero label on him without backing it up and there’s nothing at all that supports that.Ā He’s just been presented poorly, is all–no surprise–and he’s still new enough to me that I haven’t been able to crack his code. But it’s running in the back of my mind so I can do more Walking Around installments with next gen Team Seven, so hopefully it will be sooner rather than later.

As for Himawari–I don’t know much about her either, but what I do know is that basically, yeah, she’s fantastic. šŸ˜€

Well, we all know that Shikako is uninterested in romance but I think it’s worth considering Surprisingly!Smooth!Shikamaru? After all, Shikaku stealth romanced Yoshino pretty fiercely, according to the sidestories, and Shikamaru was the only one of the rookies to actually be shown *dating* in canon. (As far as I remember, anyway.) Uh, so prompting for contrast!twins in which Shikako is totally oblivious and Shikamaru is the master of the (lazy) date.

Hahahaha, I actually think Shikako comes off as a lot more charming/smooth to those who didn’t grow up with her (ie Team Ten and Sakura) but she doesn’t actually do it on purpose/know what to do with it. So Shikako accidentally-flirting-with-people-and-not-knowing/intending-to-follow-up is how I headcanon her properly in DoS, while Shikamaru is way suave in all aspects of dating in comparison.

It’s definitely a cool idea, but I’m not sure how I’d implement it. Like, does Shikako finally get asked out and she has no idea what to do so she turns to her brother for help and she’s over here planning it out like some kind of battle while he’s just like… no, Kako, that’s not how it works. Or is it Shikamaru’s POV of the trail of admirers his sister leaves behind–and possibly having to carefully screen through his own dates to make sure not to go out with someone who once had a crush on his sister because that would be weird?

But I’ll put it on the list, anon, and hopefully something will come to me. šŸ™‚

In DOS, the night of the festival: Tenten: The stars look beautiful tonight. Shikamaru: Yeah. You know what else is beautiful? Tenten: *blushes* What? Shikamaru: Shikako. (When she’s in Konoha and NOT DYING AND NO GUYS ARE APPROACHING HER EVEN WHEN SHES IN THAT KIMONO. He’s done his job well)

Oh, no! Did Shikamaru spend most of their date making sure Shikako wasn’t getting hit on (literally or figuratively)?

No, he’s not that ba–

… well…

TenTen knew what she was signing up for, surely?

Different person: I keep coming back to Sakako being called “The Conjurer,” since, to her enemies, it would seem like she’s conjuring vengeful spirits and letting them attack her foes.

jacksgreysays:

I think I have a different understanding of what the word conjurer means because for me it means something more like conjuring as in creating things or like stage magic where they pull a rabbit out of a hat. Conjurer in Japanese is either Kijutsushi (儇蔓師) or Majutsushi (魔蔓師) which is kind of like conjurer as I understand it–magician/juggler/illusionist or mage in a high fantasy thing.

I think maybe ā€œSummonerā€ is more what you’re going for–not the Kuchiyose of summoning animals in Naruto, but more like the summoning of spirits like in Final Fantasy. That is Shoukanshi (召喚士) or Shoukansha (å¬å–šč€…) which maybe might work better in terms of accuracy? Also the shi (士)Ā of Shoukanshi is warrior which is kinda cool.

image

Ah, I don’t really watch many horror movies, so I only vaguely know that movie exists.Ā No worries, anon! Conjurer does sound pretty damn badass, even if it’s not quite the thing we want. šŸ™‚

Different person: I keep coming back to Sakako being called “The Conjurer,” since, to her enemies, it would seem like she’s conjuring vengeful spirits and letting them attack her foes.

I think I have a different understanding of what the word conjurer means because for me it means something more like conjuring as in creating things or like stage magic where they pull a rabbit out of a hat. Conjurer in Japanese is either Kijutsushi (儇蔓師) or Majutsushi (魔蔓師) which is kind of like conjurer as I understand it–magician/juggler/illusionist or mage in a high fantasy thing.

I think maybe ā€œSummonerā€ is more what you’re going for–not the Kuchiyose of summoning animals in Naruto, but more like the summoning of spirits like in Final Fantasy. That is Shoukanshi (召喚士) or Shoukansha (å¬å–šč€…) which maybe might work better in terms of accuracy? Also the shi (士)Ā of Shoukanshi is warrior which is kinda cool.

Hope I don’t throw you off your Sakako or DnD vibe or anything, but: Tokyo GhoulxDoS! In any way you want. I was specifically thinking of ghouls being actual lurkers in the DoS world That’d be an interesting mission, with a high chance of death.

image

I don’t know if you’re the same anon, but I checked these asks at the same time and they kind of fused together into a cool idea so… here’s a brainstorm:

I don’t really know much about Tokyo Ghoul except for the basics and what I could glean of the wiki page, but I kind of feel like the mass Edo Tensei would have some repercussions that could very easily be ghouls/half-ghouls existing alongside living humans and eating them for power etc. etc.

If anything, this seems like a pretty good premise world for next generation to live in.

Because, if you think about it, Naruto’s generation basically created world peace amongst the Elemental Nations so… why do shinobi still exist? Like, sure, civilians still want them to assassinate their enemies/kill off bandits/protect them from wildlife/do their chores etc. etc. But, you know, a good amount of the reason behind the Hidden Villages is a sort of cold war/collect more power thing, so maybe now instead of other villages they’re raised to hunt down ghouls and other creepy undead creatures that are the fallout of the mass Edo Tensei.

Which, I mean, Sakako’s ability to see ghosts would be helpful somehow? Like she can see un-enhanced ghosts easily, and while ghouls look like normal humans to other people they look a little off to Sakako. Like… they’re double layered or glowing weirdly or something that she can immediately spot if a person is a ghoul or a human.

It definitely ups the stakes for shinobi since ghouls are canonically faster/stronger/etc than humans so even the chakra-enhanced shinobi are maybe about on equal footing as ghouls (unless they’re like Lee in which case, no, he’s definitely faster than a ghoul). And maybe ghouls do prefer to eat shinobi–maybe chakra gives them more power/sustains them longer or something?

As for the title thing… I’m not very keen on Sakako inheriting her mother’s title as opposed to making one for herself, but when I tried to find a badass name for Sakako that was as punny as Shikabane for Shikako the only thing even slightly cool I could find was Sakarau (逆悉恆) which means to go against/oppose/defy and that’s not as on the nose as Shikabane-hime.

The ā€œbig badsā€ in next gen appear to be ~aliens~ via the Otsutsuki clan which… okay… and Shin Uchiha. Which is very next gen Team Seven problems considering the Otsutsuki clan seam to have a strong connection to the Hyuuga clan and Shin Uchiha was one of Orochimaru’s experiments with the Sharingan and that accounts for all three members of the next gen Team Seven.

But, again, that’s all inherited big bads from their parents which… I dunno, I kinda want them to have their own enemies/obstacles to defeat? So maybe there’s also a big bad who is gathering up ghouls or somehow responsible for producing more or SOMETHING so that this generation can have something to fight that isn’t just ā€œsins of the fatherā€ because I do not support the parental complexes all of canon next gen seem to have, apparently.

Anon(s?) those are pretty cool ideas and I think I’ll incorporate it as a DoS next gen headcanon so I’ll make a Walking Around ā€˜verse note to myself to write something about how becoming an expert ghoul hunter gives Sakako a badass name? Or makes people have awful flashbacks to the carnage that her mother inflicted against zombies during the Fourth World War?

Something cool, hopefully. šŸ˜€

love all your dos stories! who do you think is the hardest character to write? I know you find kakashi pretty hard… anyone who’s harder to write than him?

Thanks, anon! ( ˘ ³˘)♄

The hardest character for me to write besides Kakashi? Hm… of the characters I’ve actually written, I presume you mean…

Surprisingly? Naruto is pretty difficult for me to write. It’s why Quest for the Queen gave me so much trouble (and why I was so surprised to actually finish it). If he were easier for me to write, I’d probably have him way more involved in Down Every Road or, I mean, if I could form a proper headcanon for a Team Seven OT3 I’d probably have a series for that.

It’s hard to get into his headspace. I admire him as a character, but as a person I just can’t relate at all. Shikako and Sasuke I can easily understand–part of what I love about DoS (and the reason why I went on to do the podfic) is that I empathize with Shikako so much. Sasuke is… well… his motivations and reactions adhere to an internal logic that, while not my own, is still realistic.

I have no idea what’s up with Naruto. He’s basically the direct opposite of myself–he forgives easily (instead of holding grudges forever and a day like myself), he’s excited about life (somehow without also being curious about the world), he’s generous and loving and he empathizes with everyone but it’s not tactful or sensitive: he doesn’t understand the consequences of his or other people’s actions. He doesn’t understand that there are some lines that should never be crossed.

And I know some of that is because most Shounen Protagonists are walking talking cliches of HEART and OPTIMISM, but it’s just so… I just can’t do it for some reason.

Like… this is also a part of the reason why I’m reluctant to write Boruto yet. Because my brain already can’t really wrap my head around Naruto, and then a Naruto who ends up with Hinata (I’m not ship bashing, I just honestly don’t understand they had so few interactions? It’s not even like Harry and Ginny where people were discontent with the epilogue definitively making them end up together, I’m like honestly baffled. It’d be like if Harry ended up with… er… which Creevey brother survived? Like… the fraction of ā€œscreen timeā€ Hinata got in which she actually interacts with Naruto is probably the same as the Creevey brothers with Harry.)

And then there’s the fact that I’m like 90% sure that the Naruto in next gen canon has depression despite having achieved world peace and his childhood dream. And I’m not saying people can’t be depressed even though they are successful in life. But it just… it’s a very tricky thing to maneuver even though I myself also suffer from depression. There is this huge gap between teenage Naruto and adult Naruto that I can’t quite understand, and given that I already can’t grasp teenaged Naruto’s thought process it’s basically impossible for me to jump to adult Naruto and Boruto as his son from there.

Erm… sorry about that–hope it didn’t sound too much like complaining. Uh, but I can still occasionally catch on some points when it comes to Naruto (it’s more miss than hit, unfortunately) whereas Kakashi is meant to be opaque and it’s like… I can’t crack open his mystery. That’s who he is. He’s a carefully crafted construct of heartbreak and coping mechanisms and I just cannot do that to him.

I can get his external voice (like what he’d say to other characters), which is why it’s super fun to have Team Seven react to the occasional cameo, but his internal voice is just ??????

I also sometimes have trouble with Gaara… and also Temari. But that’s mostly because in comparison, Kankurou is waaaaaaay easier and my brain is just like–if you’re going to write about one of the sand siblings, why not Kankurou? He’s great.

And I’m usually like: sure, brain, you’re the boss. Let’s totally give Kankurou more lines than Gaara in the ShikakoxGaara series, that makes total sense.

OMYGOSH THOSE WERE SO GOOD! TOO GOOD! You got everything more than perfect, I can’t think of anything if want to change!

( ˘ ³˘)♄

Oh gosh, I’m so glad you think so, anon. I was worried I went a little too far or not far enough or all of my feels made it seem good to me while I was writing but didn’t translate to readers. This one, more than some of my others, was definitely a labor of love.

OH my god, thank you for all that you do. You don’t know how much I appreciate fic writers. I really enjoy reading all you writing and your thoughts and rambles. Thank you for sharing with us. It’s not just about DoS, you’re a super awesome person all around. I love ya, and I hope you get lots of writer luck & inspiration (and tons of coffee). xxxx

I like to think I’d write regardless, but knowing there are people out there who read my stuffĀ and enjoy them–even the brainstorms and rants that aren’t proper fics–makes it so much more fun, even when it leads to never ending circles of feels… actually, maybe especiallyĀ when it leads to never ending circles of feels?

It’s tiring and sometimes frustrating, but I’ve yet to regret it and I hope I never will.Ā I’m still growing as a writer and I like to think that all my readers and their feedback are helping me along: letting me know what’s working or what didn’t and pointing me in directions for new ideas that I never would have thought of on my own.Ā 

So, thanks, anon! I appreciate it.Ā I’m more a tea person than a coffee person, but I get your drift and thank you for the good vibes ( ˘ ³˘)♄

edit: unless you mean ko-fi coffee, then yes, thank you